Skip to content

being nessasary

a quirky look into being

“For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

I am sitting in the backseat of a bus:  I finally know what it feels like to be a cool kid in middle school.  The MegaBus has become my primary source for long distance traveling (if you call the journey from Indianapolis to Chicago long distance).  The fleet offers routes beyond the highway I’m on right now, however, the bumpy 3-hour ride is plenty long enough for me.  I’d rather do my airport routine:  get there 2 hours early, go through check-in and security, drink a delicious beer, take an anti-anxiety pill, and board my plane in gooey-bodied bliss.  I usually sleep the whole time or make a plane friend.  Getting on a bus is not as exciting as a plane – a plane means far away, someplace exotic, new and unfamiliar.  Bus means the Midwest. There will likely be corn and soybeans blanketing each side of the highway.  It means I’ll disembark, feel the same damp fall air, see people swathed in flannel and denim;  accents will not be accents. People aren’t as eager to make new friends because no one is really all that “new.”

It’s not that I am ungrateful to have such an easy way to get to and from Chicago, or even that I am not delighted to make the journey.  The boy who makes me Giddy lives in the city.  There is such a lovely prize at the end of the road!!!…..Trust me.  Plus, Chicago is a pretty neat city.

By living in Ireland and traveling as much of Europe as I could, I give myself the proper credentials to give an educated opinion on travel options.

Go ahead, meet strange and different people!

  • Planes:  Despite understanding the physics, the fact that these obscenely heavy objects actually fly through the air, while housing mini ecosystems regulated in a metallic tube terrifies me.  If the engines let go, you’re pretty much guaranteed ruin, unless Sully is in charge. Luckily, the chances of becoming a smear in the dirt or being hunted by a smoke monster are pretty slim.  Air travel provides a quick, relatively easy way to get from far away to another far away.  Plus, there’s SkyMall!
  • Trains: Why doesn’t the U.S. have more of them?  We really screwed up when we decided highways and one-person fuel burning machines were the way of the future.  I have only been on one train in the U.S. and that was on a field trip in kindergarten.  In Europe, I was able to see unfamiliar land, read without getting a tummy ache, and get somewhere for a relatively decent time and price.  It was the best!  There were, at times, food cars offering everything from tasty salmon dinners to Cadbury Crème Eggs.  Of course alcohol that is not $5.00 for a mini serving.  Only faults?  Occasional delays for late/early arrivals and the eerily normal track jumpers.
  • Cars: I drive an SUV and I am an environmental freak.  Hypocrite much?  I have no real excuse other than that I enjoy the safety a large vehicle provides me.  Good for short distances, but like the bus, longer than 3-5 hours without any change in scenery makes me want to hole up in deep in the woods and invent a teleporter.
  • Blimp: just kidding.
  • Boat: I grew up on a lake, so my opinion is a very happy one.  I am soothed by the rocking and occasional jab at the lower back the boat-water relationship provides. I wish cruise ships gave in more to the sea than they do. People that get seasick can get over it, or vomit on me for being such a snob about my affection for aquatic adventures.  I wish transoceanic travel were as lovely as it once was.  I have only been on a Disney Cruise.  I was 6 and Pluto didn’t dance with me at the party – I’m not bitter…

There are so many ways to get around.  No matter what, the idea of moving from one place to another brings me a special sort of joy.  Some people think it is a dangerous thing to be a young and feisty woman filled to the brim with wanderlust. I happen to know danger and adventure hold hands.  I refuse to let fear hold me back – I have seen death, shaken his hand and told him I’d go on that date in about 70 years.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

.it’s nessasary.

Tags: , , , , ,

