Skip to content

being nessasary

a quirky look into being

“Listen up, you couch potatoes: each recycled beer can saves enough electricity to run a television for three hours.” -Denis Hayes

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I am pretty sure my music teacher from elementary school wrote “Recycle Rap”  for one of our Earth Day concerts.  It goes something like this, yo:

Recycle, Recycle, Recycle now

There’s nothin’ to it if you just know how!

So get your Mama and your Papa and your Sister too,

Recycling is the thing to do!

That is about all I remember.  Nonetheless, it is pretty stinkin’ cute to think about a bunch of  kids in 3rd grade rapping about recycling.  Mrs. S sure made sure we were fly.  The thing is, recycling has become an even more relevant issue since 1994 – not that it wasn’t then.  With science and common sense mostly in compliance to the validity of global warming, the world has been flooded with information regarding green living.

I am a bit of a recycling fanatic. I’m sometimes a bit judgmental of a person’s effort; for the sake of you actually wanting to read my tips, I will only stress one time that it is not that hard. I did and still do give my father a hard time about how simply walking the extra ten feet to the garage to toss his soda can in the red bin could make a difference. When I was younger and closer to the lyrics of the Recycle Rap, I’d chastise,  “You’re destroying the planet for your grandchildren every time you throw away a can!”  He’d usually not talk to me for hours.

I will admit I am not perfect at planet preserving. Passion is never perfect! I despise myself when forget to pour out my three month old milk because I have to toss the whole thing in the garbage can (my nose + potent smells = vomit = migraine).  No, I am not a female that says she has a migraine when she has a headache.  When I have a migraine, I cannot speak nor tell people about it on facebook.  So, there is my huge recycling fault/rant about fake migraines.  We cannot all be perfect, but we can try, right?  I have compiled a little list that is helpful and realistic to most households (plus, we can always give our friends a hand when they need it!).

1)  Dropping a used ink cartridge in your purse gives you a nice discount when you go to Staples to purchase a new one. (Learn more about disposing of your E-Waste )

2) Starbucks addict? Have the barista pour your drink into your very own reusable mug. Jingle Jingle, you save ten cents!

3) Bottle your own water!  SIGG makes some very eco-chic beverage bottles.  Super easy to clean and adorn with your own stickers, it’s nice to know that the 4 liters of water I try to down each day isn’t leaving much of footprint.

4) I am a huge fan of To-Go Ware.  Reusable bamboo utensils that come in handy carriers make the need for plastic utensils completely null and void.  They also sell food carriers and bags!

5) I first started my adventure in reusable shopping bags while living in Ireland (fun fact: Ireland was the first country in the world to put a tax on plastic bags at grocery stores).  The bag tax urged consumers to reuse their bags or to purchase cloth bags. Neat! I am delighted to see that the U.S. is following suit, but has not quite gone the extra mile as to taxing us on our sick overuse of plastic bags (did you know an abundant amount of sea creatures choke on bags because they look so much like their natural prey?). Some stores reward you for using your own bags by either giving you a discount or donation.  However, Be Sure, to regularly wash your bags, bacterial nasties like E. Coli can latch onto the fabric as you tote your meat and veggies from store to home.

I'm pre-packaged, baby.

6)  Most produce comes with its very own container.  Bagging nanners, limes, oranges and onions seems a bit redundant.

7)  Educate yourself!  Discover where your community’s recycling program directs its energies.  Can you enhance your household’s effort?

It really is all a matter of habit.  Forgetting your reusable bags, or dropping a soda can in the wrong container is completely normal when trying to make the transition.  The important thing is that you’re trying!  Our planet is much too pretty to cover it with rubbish.

So, friends, there are my wee tips to help you on your journey to discovering a greener you (there is much more you can do involving energy, water, and so on…).

If you seek more information, let me know in the comments!

If you have any advice for me or others, shoot me a bit of knowledge in the form of a comment!

Am I hinting that I’d love to hear what you think loud enough???

Tags: , , , , ,

