Skip to content

being nessasary

a quirky look into being

I would be a terrible first lady.  Sure, I love kids, peace, the environment, fashion, traveling, and supporting the ones I love.  I also consider myself to be respectful of other cultures, and will happily accommodate my dress and behavior for the sake of respect.  However, I have trouble with misogynistic tradition, whether it be religious or cultural.  I like hugging. I do not like wearing heels and and expensive pant suits day after day (I prefer flip flops [or moccasins], holey jeans, and really soft shirts [tank tops, hoodies]).  I also despise it when people tell me what to do.  Like most pre-teens on Jerry Springer, “I do what I want!” While I am not sleeping with 20 year olds and cursing at my sweet mother, that attitude, for the most part, is the one that helps a dominate woman succeed.  Doing what you want/having an wiley motive in your actions typically serves a woman well in most her endeavors – it’s all part of being strong-willed and stubborn (which have studied for nearly 25 years).  Both sexes can benifit with a friendly demeanor and a smile.  If you practice I do what I want without a polite policy, you just come off as an ass. No one wants to be an ass. Unless you do…?

This brings me to my thoughts on a news story:  the racey relationship between first lady Michelle Obama and Indonesian Information Minister Tifatul Sembiring.  When the Obamas arrived in Jakarta, Indonesia this Tuesday morning, they were greeted by a line of officials – nothing super out of the ordinary for a presidential welcoming committee.  President Obama greeted each of the men with a handshake, while his wife used the the same courteous manner.

"Yeah, Jim, it must have been that night we spent with the tequila and the hamsters...."

When the time came for her to shake the hand of the conservative Muslim Minister Tifatul Sembiring, the world suddenly went into cardiac arrest when he reached both his hands toward Mrs. Obama’s with an ecstatic smile on his face.  How could he!?!?  How could this intelligent, religious man, who blames natural disasters on man’s lack of morality, actually shake a female’s hand, albeit a prominent one??? Blasphemy!!!

You may have to shield young ones’ eyes, this is disturbing:

This news story wouldn’t be much of a news story if the world wasn’t so unbalanced.  Once news of this Muslim man’s skin on unrelated woman’s skin contact hit the streets, a crazed roar of colliding cultures came billowing up from the depths of the earth.  Surely a natural disaster is in the works for such an abomination of morality to occur!!!

Minister Tifatul Sembiring quickly denied his enthusiastic handshake with the lovely first lady.  He claimed that Mrs. Obama forced the contact.  HANDSHAKE RAPE!!!  Swab his palms for cooties and non-familial estrogen, STAT!!!

My dramatic reaction to Minister Sembiring’s handshake is not only founded on my distaste for misogyny in both culture and religion, I happen to find it absolutely hilarious that he denied happily shaking her hand while the moment is captured in a perfectly clear and colored  film.  Why should people take a man or woman seriously if he/she blatantly lies to save face?  This reminds of my super favorite political moment:  The Sarah Palin/Katie Couric interview of the 2008 Presidential Election.

I like to believe that the world is going somewhere, that someday, somehow, no matter what religion we are, that we can at least shake hands with one another without the threat of a moral and environmental catastrophe.  After all, don’t all religions revolve around love? At least, shouldn’t they?  And shouldn’t  we stop lying to cover up our mistakes? Lying really makes you look like a dumb coward, and gains you little respect.

I for one love it that our first lady does not allow herself to be something she isn’t. She is as much to our country as our president is – her strength and love is what keeps the president going.

If it is any consolation to the weary hand-shakers of today, hand sanitizer is pretty cheap, even in this economy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

